Secret’s behind hand signs of Lord Vishnu’s Dashavatar

  1. Dashavatar

 As-per the Hindu mythology , Lord Vishnu is the one who will time and again incline in the form of an avatar to reinstate the cosmic order. Dashavatar refers to the ten virtuous avatars of Lord Vishnu on Earth.

  1. Hand gestures of Dashavatar explained

Lord Vishnu of the trinity, ‘Brahma-Vishnu-Mahesh’, these are the three names which is one of the important immortals in Hinduism and the inventor of Vaishnavism. As he anticipates the ‘Savior of mankind’.

  1. Bhagavada Gita

 The holy Bhagvad Gita, a 700-verse Hindu scripture in Sanskrit, also references that, “Yada Yada HeeDdharmasya…Glanir Bhavati Bharata…Aabhyutthanam Adharmasya…Tadatmanam Srjamy Aham… Paritranaya Sadhunam… Vinashaya Kaa Duskrtam… Dharma Samsthapanarthaya… Sambhavami Yuge Yug.”

  1. Vishnu’s displays on Earth

“Whenever and wherever there will be a rise of sinful acts  and failure of religious practices, when the evils will make hurt  to the innocents, I will come in order to bring the pious and to defeat the troublemakers, as well as to regenerate the principles of religion, so as to arrival of the mankind time after time.”

  1. Description

 A believing fact is that the Dashavatar of Lord Vishnu would appear throughout all four Yugas, the last being in Kaliyuga. Subsequently Satya Yuga, Lord Vishnu seemed in avatars of Matsya (Half-Fish, Half-Human), Kurma (Turtle), Varaha (Boar), Narasimha (Half-Human, Half-Lion), Vamana, Parashurama, Rama, Krishna and Kalki (Kaliyuga).

  1. Difference among each avatar

 Every avatar had very strong arenas for its appearance and a special representation. Did you notice that each of these Dashavatars were saliently varied from the others, showing particular gestures.

  1. Hast Mudra

Here we are putting light on these unknown ‘Hand gestures of the 10 personifications of Lord Vishnu’. Read ahead…

  1. Matsya

 The first and foremost avatar of Lord Vishnu in Hinduism is Matsya it was at half –human and half –fish.In this avatar he helped Manu during the coming flood that would the reason behind mankind’s eradication. There are antique texts telling the mudra of Matsya.

Matsyahasta darshayitva tatah skandasamau kar, Dhrutavu matsyavatarasya hasta etyabhidhiyat,” which intended both hands in ‘tripataka hasta’ at shoulder level be used as an implication to show lord Vishnu.

  1. Kurma

In second Dashavatar, Lord Vishnu took a form of a Turtle, throughout the Samudra Manthan. Devas and Asura, were abandoned in keeping the huge Mount Mandara afloat, Lord Vishnu looked at Kurma avatar and bore the heaviest of the mountain. There are antique texts describing the mudra of Kurma. 

“Kurma hasta darsha eitva tatah skandasamau karau, Dhrutav kurmavatarasya etybhidhiyate,” which shows that this avatar presented both palms tangled showcasing the strength within.

  1. Varaha

In third avatar, Lord Vishnu is in the form of a Pig in order to kill demon Hiranyaksha and release Bhudevi (Goddess Earth) from the ancient waters, on his tusks. An ancient text telling the mudra of Varaha.

“Darshaeyitva varaham tu katiparshva samau karau, Dhrutau varahavatarasya devasya kara eshyate,” means the use of ‘Varaha’ hand gesture at the stomach level and then retaining the hands on the hips.

  1. Narasimha

Lord Vishnu  in his fourth avatar took a  form of half man and half beast (lion-like).He expected this form to destroy the demon king Hiranyakashipu and save his little son (Prahalad) from his sufferings. The  ancient texts describing the mudra of Narsimha.

Vame simhamukham dhrutva dakshine tripatakika, Narasimha avataraya hasta etyuchate budhaih”, explains that, the ‘Simhamukha Hasta’ is detained in the left hand and ‘Tripataka Hasta’ in the right hand.

  1. Vamana

The fifth avatar (first one as full-human form) avatar, Lord Vishnu incarnated himself as a dwarf priest to restore Indra’s powers over the heaven; after it was taken away by force by the demon King Bali. An antique text telling the mudra of Vamana.

“Urdhvadho dhruta mushthibhya syanyabhyam yadi sthitaha, Sa vamanavatarasya hasta etybhidiyate,” says that this  avatar is  seen holding left hand in ‘Mushti Hasta’ at the shoulder level (to show the umbrella that he carried) and right hand also in ‘Mushti’ at the equal  level of the thigh, and the inner side to the palm is facing down.

  1. Parashurama

Lord Vishnu’s second human avatar was in the face of Parashurama.  The purpose behind this sixth personification was to release the earth’s burden by destroying the evil, critical and ungodly royals, who dishonored all possessions, and neglected their duties as kings. An antique texts telling the mudra of Parashurama. 

“Vamam katitate nyasya dakshinerdha patakika, Dhrutau parashuramasya hasta Etyabhidhiyate,” shows that, the right(दायाँ हाथ) hand held in ‘Ardhapataka’ and the left hand(बायां हाथ)  kept at the hips.

  1. Ramachandra

Seventh the most revered Dashavatar, Lord Vishnu’s personification as Lord Rama, the son,king Dhasharataha and Queen Kaushalya of Ayodhya,  to lead the life with firm devotion of Satya (truth) and Dharma despite adversity and own efforts. An ancient text telling the mudra of Ramachandra. 

“Kapityo dakshine haste vame tu shikharah karaha, Urdhva dhruto ramachandrahasta etyuchate,” says that he held ‘Shikhara hasta’ in the left hand, which rises to the head level carrying his Bow. And, right hand in ‘Kapitta Hasta’ held at the thigh level.

  1. Balarama

His eighth avatar seemed as Balarama, as his own elder brother (to Lord Krishna) in Dwaparayug. An antique texts telling the mudra of Balrama.

 “Patako dakshine haste mrushirvamakare tatha, Balaramavatarasya has etyuchate,” clarifying that his right hand is in ‘Pataka Hasta’, and left hand in ‘Mushti Hasta’ facing downstairs.

  1. Krishna

After his eighth avatar, Lord Vishnu began  as Krishna, younger brother to his own self (Balarama). The purpose behind his birth was to deliver mankind, the manual of life- The Bhagavat Gita. An antique texts telling the mudra of Krishna.

 “Mrugashirshe tu hastabhyam nyonyabhimukhe krute, Asyopakanthe krushnasya hasta etychate,” says  that, he brings his left hand near right cheek, and holds it in ‘Mrigashirsa Hasta’ facing inward and the right hand is in ‘Mrigashirsha’, but facing outward, display him carrying his adored flute.

  1. Kalki

The 10th avatar  of Lord Vishnu’s would be of Kalki (yet to be born in Kaliyug), whose birth will be the mark of obliteration of Kaliyug. An antique texts telling the mudra of Kalki. 

“Patako dakshine vame tripatakah karo dhrutaha, Kalkya khasyavatarasya hasta etyuchate, “explains that he would be holding his right hand in ‘Pataka Hasta’ and left hand in ‘Tipataka Hasta’.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>